Regional Conference: “Female Migrants in Local Politics”

Active participation in local politics for immigrant women

On June 19, 2019, the Otto Benecke Stiftung e.V. (OBS) and the German Association of Cities hosted 55 guests at a Regional Conference at the North Rhine-Westphalian State Parliament. The conference gave participants from the OBS project “Female Migrants in Local Politics” an opportunity to meet with representatives from the government, various institutions, and parties to discuss the current situation of immigrant women in local politics. In addition to the project participants, Pavle Madzirov and Angela Hebbeler from the Düsseldorf City Council and Ksenija Sakelšek, Acting Chair of the NRW State Integration Council, were also on the podium.

The event was moderated by former Bundestag member Dr. Lale Akgün, who began with a short overview of the percentages of women in politics. Of the members of the German Bundestag, just under 31% are female; in the respective state parliaments, the share of women is between 24.5 and 40.6%. In the European Parliament, the share of women is nearly 37%, and it varies widely in local governments, with a current average of 27%. The percentage of women in directly elected top local positions is especially sobering, at around 10%. Overall, women and men with a migrant background are very underrepresented in parties and committees. They make up just under 4% of council members in large cities.

“Female migrants are a minority within a minority, and there is an enormous need for action here. The project ‘Female Migrants in Local Politics’ showed that immigrant women in particular have a strong interest in participating actively in local politics, and in helping to shape local political developments,” said OBS Project Manager Teresa De Bellis-Olinger.
The discussion with forum participants showed that all of the parties still had some way to go in considering female migrants for the upcoming local elections. “It is logical and politically advisable to support this commitment. Female migrants on political committees make a significant contribution to integration, and they are a great asset for the local community,” said the Managing Chair of OBS, Dr. Lothar Theodor Lemper.

In her closing remarks, the project’s sponsor, NRW State Secretary Serap Güler, encouraged the women in the audience to keep networking, to persevere, and to keep the goal of political engagement firmly in mind.

The “Female Migrants in Local Politics” project took place in the five German states where local elections are being held through 2020 (North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Baden-Württemberg, Saarland and Bavaria). Through tailor-made seminars and extensive networking, it gave immigrant women better ways to actively engage with local politics and to seize their opportunities for shaping local political developments.

Funding bodies

The “Female Migrants in Local Politics” project was funded by the Federal Agency for Civic Education.

Contact

Otto Benecke Stiftung e.V.
Kennedyallee 105-107
53175 Bonn

 

Project Lead

Salim Bölükbasi
Tel.: 0221 2724399-13
Fax: 0221 2724399-20
Email: Salim.Boeluekbasi@obs-ev.de

 

Otto Benecke Stiftung e.V. | Kennedyallee 105-107 | 53175 Bonn | Tel: 02 28 / 81 63-0 | mail: post@obs-ev.de

Regionalforum „Migrantinnen in die Kommunalpolitik“

Aktive Beteiligung in der Kommunalpolitik für zugewanderte Frauen

Die Otto Benecke Stiftung e.V. (OBS) und der Deutsche Städtetag luden am 19. Juni 2019 zu einer regionalen Fachtagung mit 55 Gästen in den nordrhein-westfälischen Landtag ein. Die Teilnehmerinnen des OBS-Projektes „Migrantinnen in die Kommunalpolitik“ hatten damit Gelegenheit, mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern von Verwaltung, verschiedenen Institutionen und Parteien über die aktuelle Situation zugewanderter Frauen in der Kommunalpolitik zu diskutieren. Auf dem Podium saß neben den Projektteilnehmerinnen Pavle Madzirov und Angela Hebbeler aus dem Rat der Stadt Düsseldorf, Ksenija Sakelšek, die Stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Landesintegrationsrats NRW.

Moderiert wurde die Veranstaltung von der ehemaligen Bundestagsabgeordneten Dr. Lale Akgün, die zu Beginn einen kurzen Überblick über den Frauenanteil in der Politik gab: Von den Abgeordneten des Deutschen Bundestages sind knapp 31 % weiblich, in den jeweiligen Landtagen liegt der Anteil von Frauen zwischen 24,5 % und 40,6 %. Im Europäischen Parlament liegt die Frauenquote bei knapp 37 % und in den Kommunalvertretungen schwankt sie vor Ort erheblich bei einem Schnitt von derzeit 27 %. Besonders ernüchternd ist der Frauenanteil bei den direkt gewählten kommunalen Spitzenämtern, der bei etwa 10 % liegt. Insgesamt sind Frauen und Männer mit Migrationshintergrund in Parteien und Gremien stark unterrepräsentiert. Sie stellen nur knapp 4 % der Ratsmitglieder in Großstädten.

„Migrantinnen sind eine Minderheit der Minderheit und hier ist der Handlungsbedarf sehr hoch. Das Projekt „Migrantinnen in die Kommunalpolitik" hat gezeigt, dass insbesondere zugewanderte Frauen ein großes Interesse daran haben, sich aktiv an der Kommunalpolitik zu beteiligen und die politischen Entwicklungen vor Ort mitzugestalten“, so OBS-Projektleiterin Teresa De Bellis-Olinger.
Die Diskussion mit den Forumsteilnehmenden zeigte, dass alle Parteien noch Nachholbedarf haben, Migrantinnen für die anstehenden Kommunalwahlen zu berücksichtigen. „Es ist konsequent und politisch geboten, dieses Engagement zu fördern. Migrantinnen in politischen Gremien tragen maßgeblich zur Integration bei und sind eine große Bereicherung für die örtliche Gemeinschaft“, so der Geschäftsführende Vorsitzende der OBS, Dr. Lothar Theodor Lemper.

In ihrem Schlusswort motivierte die Schirmherrin des Projekts, NRW-Staatssekretärin Serap Güler, die anwesenden Frauen, sich weiter zu vernetzen, einen langen Atem zu haben und das Ziel des politischen Engagements fest im Auge zu behalten.

Das Projekt „Migrantinnen in die Kommunalpolitik" wurde in den fünf Bundesländern (Nordrhein-Westfalen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Baden-Württemberg, Saarland und Bayern) durchgeführt, in denen bis 2020 Kommunalwahlen stattfinden. Es eröffnete zugewanderten Frauen durch maßgeschneiderte Seminare und intensive Vernetzung bessere Möglichkeiten, sich aktiv in der Kommunalpolitik zu engagieren und ihre Chancen bei der Gestaltung der politischen Entwicklungen vor Ort wahrzunehmen.

Zuwendungsgeber

Das Projekt "Migrantinnen in die Kommunalpolitik" wurde gefördert durch die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

Kontakt

Otto Benecke Stiftung e.V.
Kennedyallee 105-107
53175 Bonn

Projektleiter

Salim Bölükbasi
Tel.: 0221 2724399-13
Fax: 0221 2724399-20
E-Mail: Salim Bölükbasi

Otto Benecke Stiftung e.V. | Kennedyallee 105-107 | 53175 Bonn | Tel: 02 28 / 81 63-0 | mail: post@obs-ev.de